A museum unique in Estonia is located on the main street of Mustvee, founded by Heino Lubi who worked as a scales maker for more than 30 years. The collection includes over 120 various scales, about 50 steelyards, a great number of metal and ceramic weights and other things related to scales. In addition to scales made in Estonia, Heino Lubi's collection also features scales made in the Soviet Union and Poland. The museum also displays several contemporary scales which help to understand the history of scales. Guided tours must be pre-booked!
By Priit Elbe|2020-06-08T10:24:32+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Heino Lubi Museum of Scales
Karl August Hermann (23 September 1851, Võhma village, Põltsamaa parish – 11 January 1909, Tartu) was an Estonian composer, linguist, and encyclopaedist. He was an important figure in the national movement. He published the first encyclopaedia in Estonian, was one of the organisers of several song festivals, and composed several hundred pieces of music, the best known of which are, for example, 'Kungla rahvas' and 'Oh laula ja hõiska'. He bought Perno Postimees, brought the publication to Tartu, and turned it into the first Estonian-language daily newspaper.The monument to Karl August Hermann in the park of Vana-Põltsamaa Manor was opened [...]
By |2020-06-08T10:40:46+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Karl August Hermann Monument
Construction of the Laiuse fortress was launched by the Livonian Order in the late 14th century to defend its eastern borders. The first defensive structure in Estonia to be fitted with firearms, it gained its definitive appearance in the late Middle Ages. Cannon towers were added to the fortress in the mid-15th century. The fortress crumbled in 1559 but was restored, with wooden barracks built at the end of the Swedish era, which accommodated Karl XII and his entourage from 1700–1701. After the Great Northern War the fortress lay in ruins. Did you know...? - The fortress ruins are today [...]
By |2020-06-08T11:31:06+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Laiuse fortress ruins
Palamuse Church is one of the oldest medieval churches in northern Tartu County. The church was first mentioned in documents in 1234. As a fortress church, it provided protection from invaders during wars. There is a burial ground around the church, which has two preserved headstones. The unique wooden sculptures on the altar and pulpit date back to 1696. There is a dry-stone painting on the eastern outer wall. Services are held in the church every Sunday at 11 a.m. The church also organises concerts and plays.
By |2020-06-08T10:25:28+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on St Bartholomew’s Church in Palamuse
The museum provides an excellent overview of the history of food prduction in Põltsamaa since ETK Põltsamaa Factorys early days from the 1920s, when coffee, potato starch, and wine were produced, the Soviet era period, when unique tube products were produced for cosmonauts, up to the present day.
By |2020-06-08T10:55:47+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Põltsamaa Food Museum
The museum introduces the life led by farmers in the 18th century and the everyday lives and work of our forefathers. There are five oak sculptures created by St Petersburg artist Grigori Azarenkov by the museum. The museum is surrounded by beautiful landscapes, which make it a popular venue for folk parties and theatre performances.
By |2020-06-08T11:31:08+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Paduvere Farm Museum
Church of Blessed Virgin Mary in Torma is a late baroque trapezoidal aisleless church. The completed church was blessed in 1767 and in 1868, it was made more pseudogothic. There is a cup-shaped pulpit and people compare it to Noah’s ship. Services are held at the Church of Blessed Virgin Mary in Torma every Sunday at 11 a.m.
By |2020-06-08T10:25:39+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church of Blessed Virgin Mary in Torma
The magnificent Neo-Renaissance style manor with a white main building was built during the time of G. J. Mannteuffel in 1860. In 1918, Julius Kuperjanov established a partisan battalion in Puurmani castle. At present, the castle houses the Puurmani Upper Secondary School. You can visit Puurmani castle and learn about its history in the course of the Forgotten Manors program during the visiting days in the summer. You can also order a tour of the manor house, manor park and the entire Jõgeva County. In the manor, we will look around different floors where you can see the countess's boudoir, [...]
By |2020-06-08T10:55:50+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Puurmani Manor
A narrow-gauge Sonda-Mustvee railway passed through Avinurme during 1926–1972. It was a true 50-year-long prosperity era for the villages located near the route. Today, a section of 178.5 metres of the former railway, the rail brigde, and the rail vehicle have been restored. All those who are interested are welcomed to take a nostalgic train ride from May to October, meaning the railway is opened when the weather is warm enough and the door of the locomotive can be opened and the railway is closed when the door of the locomotive freezes shut.
By |2020-06-08T11:31:11+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Avinurme museum train
Laiuse Church was first mentioned in 1319. It was destroyed during the Livonian War, the Polish–Swedish War, and the Great Northern War, but it was re-built. The church, which originally was a hall-church with three naves and no tower, is built from local limestone and its corners are made from large limestone dry-stones. The tower, which was destroyed in World War II, was restored in 1970. The building was restored in 2000–2001. The church organises a lot of concerts and services are held every Sunday at 1 p.m.
By |2020-06-08T10:25:42+03:0008 Jun 2020|Comments Off on Estonian Evangelical Lutheran Church: St. George’s Church in Laiuse